Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,500 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I handled Mesa for the first time at a show in mid October. She's been in 3 other shows but has always been handled by a pro. I've been taking lessons with her for a few months and since our regular handler wasn't going to be at this show I decided to do it.

I am never going to do it again.

The judge gave me an instruction as he was examining her that I misunderstood. Rather than explain himself he chose to make a very sarcastic and demeaning remark that was completely unnecessary. He could see that I was a very nervous newbie but rather than be kind and make this a fun time with my dog he had me almost in tears. (Later I saw him be charming and lovely to a junior handler so I know he has it in him.)

When we came out of the ring, the woman who had been after me said she couldn't believe how rude he'd been to me.

The next day the judge was the wife of the original judge. She wasn't nearly as nasty, but she was also mean. Her target wasn't me. It was one of the other dogs, but it was still surprising and disappointing.

Are AKC judges frequently like this?

If they are then I don't see the need to subject myself to this again. It's really too bad because I put in a lot of time learning what I could and I was enjoying it.

·
Registered
2,450 Posts
That's too bad you had such a negative experience. Maybe try again if you and the dogs are both still having fun learning.

·
Registered
73 Posts
No they usually aren't but I wouldn't stop showing it's a learning experience and showing your dog is fun. Maybe pray for a different judge next time :):) I show ACA conformation and the judges are really nice but when I was younger I showed for AKC I don't remember the judges ever being rude. I do remember wanting you to know what's going on. Everyone gets nervous their first go around. I would give it another try!! :):):)

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

·
Registered