Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys let me givve you a run down on me first, im a college student studying firefighting (which i should be studying for !), i have alot of spare time and enjoy hiking in mountanous areas so i needed a partner, i rescued a 3 month old german shepherd lab mix. previously when i lived with my parents we had a jack russel ever since he was a puppy, we could never really train him because we didnt know how as new owners, this time im going to try and get the training right and make my new puppy (Koda) very loyal and obedient. ive been reading quite a bit on training and ive come across being "dominant" and the "alpha" in the relationship, so ive been doing such things as ignoring the whining, eating before him, using a firm voice, not letting him on the couch or bed, not letting him on my lap, petting him only when hes submissive. Now my question; he is only 3 months old and i feel very guilty/mean for not cuddling him and letting him on the couch!! but i really do want an obedient dog, will he not love me if im to strict with him? maybe i feel bad because i let my jack russel do all these things. what are your thoughts... eventually i want to be able to walk trails without him on a leash and know in my mind that he loves me and will protect me if something happens...

·
Registered
12,761 Posts
You've fallen for the meme that is dominance theory. Don't worry, substitute it for NILF and love your dog for the behavior you can get. Win-win.

·
Registered
3,071 Posts
Like curbside said, forget about all that dominance stuff. Our dogs dont try to dominate us :) That myth has been perpetuated by a certain TV personality, but that way of thinking has been disproven. Love your puppy!

·
Registered
63 Posts
2nd on the NILF