Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's my first time here so please bare with me.

I recently received a dog over the course of my first year high school. I wake up at 5 am in the morning to get ready for school. I come home at about 4 pm.

I don't know how to feed it over the hours I am away from home.

but here are some of my questions:
1. they say a dog will like you if you're the one who feeds them. so i want to feed them myself.
2. the problem is i don't know if I have to give it in the morning or at late in the afternoon. during weekdays that is.
3. what can be a schedule when feeding and bathing it?

I'm sorry if my questions is for beginners but it really is my first time.

And if your opinion is me not owning the dog well I won't accept it. because this dog is given to me by my parents so really want to take care of it and to prove i am responsible, also, i can do something for my spare time instaed on just going to the internet and playing video games.

·
Registered
5,615 Posts
Welcome to dog ownership! Lots of high school age people do well with dogs as long as they recognize the responsibility, which you seem to do. We have several forum members that are highschool and college age! Most of us though, like me, are old fogeys.

A few questions:
What time do you actually leave for the day? How old is the dog? What times does the dog go out for potty? How long have you had the dog? (name? breed? sex?)
What sort of exercise and training do you do and when?

I normally recommend twice daily feedings..as I personally find once a day to be an awful long time to go before eating and Cracker would get empty stomach upset if I didn't. I would organize your schedule like this : up and outside for pee, a meal, then twenty minutes or so later, outside for pee and poo and a walk if possible.

·
Registered
5,074 Posts