Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So right now I'm mostly broke with a bit of money for groceries that have to last at least a few weeks and I only have about a serving or two left of dog food.
So, does anyone have any recommendations of what I can feed my puppy? She's 5 months old and I've been feeding her Natural Balance for about two months.
I was looking at some cheap (like $6 for a little bag) food at the grocery store but it's all full of corn meal and other things that dog food shouldn't have and I really didn't feel comfortable getting that for her. I know a lot of pet owners don't care and buy cheap stuff but I feel I know better not to feed animals bad quality food. And I don't want to make her sick with the runs.

·
Registered
20,766 Posts
It's never cost-effective to buy a small bag. You're paying twice as much per pound as a big bag---so you'll end up paying just as much for a low-quality food. One thing I can think of is to find a friend who feeds a decent-quality food in a large bag, and ask to buy a few pounds of it. Or have someone lend you the money for dog food and pay them back when you can.

Another thing you can do is feed real meat and oatmeal. You can feed an unbalanced diet for a short while with no ill effects. But if you only have a few dollars for food for the both of you this probably won't work. It works well for people on food stamps, though.

In the future, you might want to buy dog food one bag ahead, so that you always have a full bag in reserve, in case money suddenly gets tight. Some low-income friends of mine do that.

Some shelters have a pet food pantry. You can call around and ask. They get donations of all kinds of food and they might even have Natural Balance. Be sure to donate back to them when you have the means!

·
Registered
2,071 Posts