Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I am looking at getting a new dog. I have researched and researched and I just want to run this by everyone here to make sure I am on the right track. I have narrowed my search down to a couple of breeds, but I want to know if these are my best option or if any of you all have any ideas for a breed I may not of even thought of!

First off I am a grad student that lives in an apartment. However, there is a 3 acre field across the road and a dog park a short walk away, so plenty of places to go exercise. This is not my first dog, I owned a Chow prior to this, but she died 2 years ago at the age of 16. I have missed having that companion in my life.

As for the dog, I'm looking for a true companion, one that just wants to be around me as much as possible and go everywhere I go. I am also looking for one that is highly intelligent and trainable for frisbee events. Needs to be medium size (30-50 lbs.) mainly out of preference. Should also be able to deal with cats (if at my parents house) and other dogs (brothers house). I know that is generally temperamental based and can vary widely in individuals, but I'm just looking for personal experiences.