Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am dogsitting for a friend, and I thought that her dog would trust me by now (I go to her house a lot). But forgive me, I'm not too good with dogs besides my own little mop.

When I got there this morning, the dog (a huge chocolate lab) came to the door and stood in my way, barking and growling. He has always been a sweetheart, but I should have known he'd be so protective. What should I do?

·
Registered
8 Posts
How is your friends dog with other dogs? Do you think he will trust you more if you bring your dog along with you?

Also, do like Moke suggested and bring treats. Something good, like roast beef, or turkey.

Try not to make direct eye contact. The dog may see you as more of a threat then.

Most importantly, Be Careful!!

·
Registered
540 Posts
Can you get ahold of your friend? Maybe she'll have some suggestions on what to do, afterall it is her dog and she probably knows him best. In the least, if you can't get the problem sorted out maybe she knows someone else who can go to look after him, or even go to help you out. Someone the dog knows better?

Other than that, I second bringing some yummy treats. Don't just hand them to him though, toss them to him. If he's really stressed by you being there he may not even eat it, but if he does it's a good sign. Next toss it a little closer. Just keep tossing him treats and talking calmly to him. Get down to his level too, and like SugarKat25 said, don't make eye contact. Be patient and understanding. If he doesn't come around you're going to have to get your friend to find someone else to do it I think.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks, guys. Will the treat thing really work? I'm really worried, but maybe I'm just stressing too much.

I'm afraid that bringing my dog over will freak him out more, like someone else to fight? Plus she's tiny - a Lhasa - so I'm scared he'll hurt her.

·
Registered