Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a situation here, that I would like to have opinions, or ideas to help my dog that I've been fostering now for the last 5 months. She is a great dog, and loves attention, belly rubs, etc.... But my situation is this:

When I first got her, she was somewhat fearfull of all kinds of noise, like buses, doesnt' like going near heavy machinery (construction,etc) but she's gotten better, but still doesn't like the machinery so I keep her away from all that. But when it comes to playing with her, she's not one to want to play????? I throw balls and sticks for her to fetch, and she won't. I've tried hiding and getting her to find me, but that only worked once. When we are out at the park, I'll run and she'll run after me, but that only lasts for a short while as she doesn't want too, or i run out of breath lol. I've tried to play with her and her toys, and she couldn't care less, the ODD time she'll play with me and do her snort sounds, and nible on the hand etc....but she really isn't playfull at all. I'm begining to think that perhaps they never played with her, or gave her much attention as all she wants is to be loved and petted. I can't always be petting her, so I wonder if she gets bored? Any ideas of what I can try to get her playing? She is 3 1/2 years old, and i've only had her 5 months now.......I don't find it normal for her to not want to play.

·
Registered
4,423 Posts
Most dogs have to be taught how to play. Fetch isn't something that comes naturally...most dogs will either snatch it and run, play keep away or show no interest at all. Same with toys, some dogs don't care for them.

That's why Agility, Flyball, Frisbee, Rally, Tracking and the other dog sports are so popular....the dogs love them.

·
Registered
1,634 Posts