Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I want to train dogs for a living. I may do other things as well, but training gives me such joy! Just watching a dog understand after hours of work, or a person and their dog bonding! Also, when people tell me their dog is "untrainable" I simply take it as a challenge :)

So, I was wondering, how would I get started? All my friends come to me already for dog advice. I try to farmiliarize myself with all the different training techniques, along with their pros and cons(positive training is my method!). I'm 15, so I'm still in school. Just about everyone around here has dogs, but I rarely meet any because few are walked(or at least that I've seen on my walks, sad I know). I take in dog info like I do oxygen, and I read through training books quickly, and remember just about everything.

I also live in a small area, and the nearest professional trainer is 20 minutes away. I'm hoping to take an obediance class with Bella(because she's not so great around distractions, and we made the mistake of not taking her to puppy class), and then an agility class with her as well, once I find a place I like and we're okay money-wise.

I have 2 dogs currently, both are Shih Tzus(though they act opposite hah) and I used to own a Labrador, but I was so little I couldn't really help out a ton, no matter how much interest I had in it, I just didn't know enough ;) I am a very social person, but am homeschooled so I don't even know any teens with dogs who live near me haha. So, my experience with dogs is a bit limited, but I've read so much it makes up for it, for the most part. I've put hours and hours and hours into learning about dogs, since I was old enough to learn and retain information on dogs, and I've had a love for them since before I can remember :)

Any advice would be really appreciated, as well as book reccomendations and anything like that :)

~IJMB

·
Registered