Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like some info here from people who have experience in the area.

I have no experience with owning a dog so I can only say what I feel, and based on interaction with other people who own dogs.

For starters, the dog doesn't belong to me, but belongs to people I know (husband and wife). At the times I have seen the dog, in the past months I am starting to suspect this particular dog is the more dominant one. This is a adult dog. ANd the dog concerned used to have a previous owner (how many I have no idea).

One trait I have notice with this dog is when the dog is let into the house, the dog just seems to barge right through at times, (or at times attempt to barge right through) not waiting for the owners to go in first, and it is something I have seen often.

Another concern is the constant seeking attention, to the point where the attention seeking behavior is more on the wild side (not aggressive, at least not aggressive yet, but more over excited hyper type).

Now the wife is pregnant and is soon to give birth, and one thing I am noticing is the dogs behavior and attention seeking seems to be getting worse, not to mention seems to be barking more often at times.

Can this dog really become a major problem and super jealous when the child is born?

·
Registered
10,186 Posts
Dominance isn't a thing in dogs, so don't worry about that.

The dog "barges in" because nobody taught him to do otherwise. The dog barks for attention because it gets him attention, and dogs always do what works for them. He sounds like a young dog who isn't adequately trained or exercised, certainly not a bad dog.