Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I took my dogs for a ride to the park today. This is my first time actually taking them for a ride and I noticed one was looking sad the whole ride. When we came to a stop I noticed one pooped a little on the seat then when I was finally able to get him out he threw up some. I was told that he had gotten a little car sick before but never witnessed it first hand. I was wondering if there is something I can give him to settle him down or if he will eventually get over it with time.

·
Registered
241 Posts
How old is he? It's usually more common for younger dogs to get car sick (something to do with the innner ear), so if he's young it might be something he'll outgrow.
You could also try short car rides to fun places to get him used to being in the car and associating it with something fun. You might try just sitting in the driveway and feeding treats and giving praise.
There are some things you can give to them to help. You can buy meds at the vet or there are a variety of home remedies (I can't think of them now but you can google).

Best thing would be just getting him to see it as fun. My dog Jasper gets car sick and we've been working on it. He stills hates the car but he can go longer without getting sick. Last time we went camping, we bought him some anti nausea pills from the vet and he threw up the pills! :)

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My dogs are less than 6 months so maybe it is what you were saying about his inner ear. When I took him to the park it seemed like it was a little fun for him but I think him feeling sick kept him from enjoying it to the fullest. I will look online but I was hoping for some home remedies to help him out until he gets over it.

·
Registered
4 Posts