Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to get a dog to go biking with and am wondering if anyone has any breed recommendations?

Here is some additional info about what I am looking for:

I am an avid cyclist and would like a dog whom I can cycle with. I enjoy offroad cycling but also paved and railroad dirt trails. Equally important to me, I work as a researcher and will be taking my dog to work everyday. As such I would like to get a dog that is social with people (and other dogs). Ideally I would like to get a dog that is social and exuberant but also in need of high energy activities and one that I could be confidant in regarding commands. Basically, I want an athletic, social, playful and controllable (for off leash bicycling) dog.

So here are some of my initial thoughts:

1) Soft-coated wheaten terrier. I grew up with wheatens and absolutely love the puppy-like exuberance they have with them throughout their life. I like how social they are with people and other dogs and the fact that they don’t shed. Major concern: because of their exuberance, I have concerns about their trainability to run without a leash (e.g., they become easily distracted and are not so into pleasing their owner). Less of a concern but still a concern – the longer hair collecting material. I say this is less of a concern because I don’t mind doing grroming regularly, but it may still be annoying at times.

2) Australian Shepherd. Several friend’s how had ranches had these and I was always impressed with how well trained these dogs are and how much they enjoy work. My concern with this breed is their social/outgoingness with regard to other people. Generally these dogs seem to form 1-a few close attachments and could care less about others.