Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are people's thoughts on dog booties?

Here's my situation: I take my dog hiking, running, and biking with some frequency (2-3 times a week). She is mostly running on pavement. I live in Hawaii so it never gets cold or exceptionally hot. My thought is if we make sure her pads are well maintained, we probably don't need booties. My girlfriend thinks we should get them.

Thoughts? Personally, I think they are valuable for extreme cold, but see them somewhat as a marketing ploy - they have some value, but by and large aren't really necessary. That said, I can be swayed if people think there's strong reason to get some.

Last question: if you do use them, what do you have and do you like them?

·
Registered
2,450 Posts
I've never used booties on my dogs before. The only way I would consider them would be for extreme cold for a considerable length of time. Personally I think a dog's feet should be a bit toughened up otherwise they're more prone to cuts and things if their pads are soft.

What kind of dog do you have again? If you're running that often with her, you might want to consider a different surface since pavement can be hard of their feet. In the heat I will walk on the sidewalk, but have the dogs walk in the grass beside (if possible).

·
Registered
1,744 Posts
We use them in deep winter occasionally. Well, not full-on booties, but foot covers to give Sam a little protection from ice, salt, and wet snow sticking between his toes. I'd absolutely consider them if the pavement got dangerously hot around here, or if there were other issues (grass allergies, for example), but I'd say most dogs in most non-extreme situations don't need them. Even for us, it's more an issue of making Sam a little more comfortable than a serious health or safety concern.