Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5,071 Posts
Here's a PDF of the text that was in the video for those that found the video difficult to follow.

Since I just started training Basil a new trick today I'll use that as an example for the steps described in the video:

1. Define the behavior you want the learner to do; this is the target behavior:
The behavior is picking up a basket in his mouth and being able to carry it around with an object in it on cue. Also, keep holding onto the basket until a cue is given to drop it.

2. Split the target behavior into smaller steps to shape:
Started out marking and rewarding for sniffing the basket handle, then mouthing the basket handle, then biting the handle with more pressure, then biting onto the handle and moving it slightly, then biting onto the basket and taking a step, then taking more than one step. Future steps we'll take are: Biting into the handle and carrying it for longer and longer durations without dropping it, and being able to carry the basket with an object of increasing weight inside of it.

3. Create a supportive environment before the behavior occurs:
Not totally sure I understand what this means, but we're starting out in the living room: a quiet, familiar, low-distraction area. After the trick is solid in the living room, we'll up the criteria and practice in increasingly distracting settings, for instance, the living room with a lot of commotion going on, then we'll train outside in front of my apartment on a calm day, then outside by the parking lot where there are cars driving by and people in the distance, then near strangers in closer proximity like the hardware store, then someplace where there are dogs to distract him like the pet store. This way Basil will eventually be able to perform the trick anywhere.