Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I have been considering buying my first very own dog for a couple of months now. My family has had dogs since i was 10 (I'm 22 now) and we still have them, a 12 yr old german shepherd and her 8yr old daughter.

I've narrowed my selection to the following three breeds:
Chesapeake Bay Retriever
Longhair Weimaraner
Border Collie

Now I do understand these may be quite difficult for a first time dog owner but I believe I've learned a lot about dogs over the years we have our dogs, since furthermore both my parents have had multiple dogs before I was even born. I've come to this selection by reading about the breeds, taking the Dog Breed Selector quiz at http://animal.discovery.com/breed-selector/dog-breeds.html and visiting a dog show.

Strangely enough, while the breed selector suggested me Chesapeake and Border Collie, Weimaraner was not on the list. I believe he is quite similar to the other two in terms of energy, trainability, health.. I hope I'm quite correct?

Actually, when I check out the exercise needs of various breeds on the internet, I get results ranging from 2hr walking to 4hr running for the same breed. Now what I am ready to guarantee is about 2*1.5 hours walking, possibly 2*1+1.5 hour walking. Plus some training or playing. Now I understand that the dogs I have chosen are quite a bit more demanding and active than the german shepherds we have now. I wonder if my plan would definitely satisfy each of the breeds, possibly some comments whether I should prefer 3 walks or 2 walks:D Also I am only talking about what I can guarantee every day, I believe neither of these will have a problem walking 5-6 hours in a row.