Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a dachshund/terrier/chihuahua mix. I am new to the dachshund breed but know they can have many skeletal issues. My boy Levi has the typical dachshund back legs and long spine. I am wanting to do some type of dog sport with him. He's so intelligent and loves to be doing something. He looks at me for direction and I want to build off that bond. He does love running around and jumping small things. But the wear on his body from possibly doing agility worries me a bit to the point I may just decide against it. Also how do you know your dog may do well/like agility?

I'm hoping to start him in proper puppy training classes in November.

I have two other dogs and never had them properly trained, so trying to do this one right. :wink:

·
Registered
1,732 Posts
There are lots of Dachshunds that do agility. The key to agility with any dog is foundations, foundations, foundations. The sooner you start on the basics the better. Even though you can't jump a puppy a lot (and definitely not a full height), you can still teach things like going around a cone or pole, how to go away from you or come closer, and introduce them to unstable surfaces using wobble boards and other stuff like that. No full height equipment, though!

As for whether or not he enjoys it, that will probably be pretty evident.

This online class about focus is a really great "beginning all the things!" class. https://fenzidogsportsacademy.com/index.php/courses/926 The session started on the 1st, but registration runs through the 15th, if you are interested.

·
Registered
3,334 Posts
I am wanting to do some type of dog sport with him. He's so intelligent and loves to be doing something.