Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi! I'm new on here and I am really needing some good advice...

I am looking to adopt a dog from our local animal shelter, but I'm beginning to become worried about training him. He's a 2 year old stray that hasn't had any kind of training at all (house-breaking or obedience), but he seems to be very responsive to direction. I am just worried because he isn't house broken and I'm worried about leaving him in the work week. I'm a teacher and I leave for work usually around 7am and cannot be back before 4pm. I only get 25 minutes for lunch and I have to eat with my students so I can't come home to let him out. I was hoping to crate train, but everything I have read online says I need to let him every 4 hours... I really don't want to abuse him or anything and I'm terrified about mistreating him but he fits every well with my future husband and my energy level (we love to hike and we're very active in evenings, but we both work full time and we work out of town) and we really bonded with him at the shelter the past few days to see if he would be a match for us. Is there another method for house breaking that we could do? Please help! The shelter won't hold him for us so we're hoping to get him Monday. I'm just afraid to wait because I'm not sure if this shelter is a high-kill shelter or not... Its in conjunction with animal control so I feel like it is... So I really don't want to wait and I know me and my future husband would love him so much, but I am still worried about leaving him through out the day.

PS: Since I'm living on a teacher salary I can't afford a sitter and there's no doggie daycares around nearby (I couldn't afford it even if I wanted to...). I also don't have any family members nearby and I don't know my neighbors yet because I just recently moved and I think they work as much as I do, but I'm not sure.

·
Registered
3,900 Posts