Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
O.k. I am new to this thread and forum and would love to have some clarification regarding crate training please.

We have an 14 week old spoodle (cocker spaniel x poodle) that I have been crate training since 8 weeks. We thought we were doing everything correctly however it appears not. This is our problem so can someone please clarify....

She goes in the crate to sleep. I am home 5 days a week and occassionally go out on those days with my kids to the park or somewhere so she goes into the crate on those times also. She also goes into the crate in the evening at around 9 each night. Overnight she has a pee pad at one end and her bed at the other. EVERY TIME SHE GOES INTO THE CRATE SHE CRIES AND BARKS FOR AT LEAST 15 - 20 MINS. Originaly when we got her she would poo & wee in her crate on her bed it didn't matter to her. She would also cry continuously. She now only goes to the toilet on her pee pad overnight however during the day she will go wherever she likes. It is extremely frustrating as you may have her outside for hours running around etc and then within 2 seconds of getting inside she will go to the toilet. I thought that crate training would help her with seperation issues however we have also tried leaving her in the laundry not in her crate and she still carries on for quite sometime. If she hears us in the house she cries and won't settle.

It is getting very hard as with 2 children you can't always keep them quiet. She doesn't cry at all overnight once she has settled. She does around 3 poos in her crate on her pee pad every night!!!!

Are we doing something wrong? Should she still be crying so much when we crate her. She gets so frantic that she turns her water over and just sounds very frantic? We don't go to her and eventually she settles.