Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'll probably have a bunch of these little questions. I'll be getting my puppy next week. I'll have the whole week off to focus on him and crate and house training, but after that he will probably be in the crate in the mornings and afternoons while I am in class (i'll be home for lunch). I don't think i'll want to crate him more than he'll need to be when i'm not there. Is it a good idea to let him sleep with me at night, or will he need to be crated then too? Is just seems like a long time to have him crated if he doesn't need to be. Any advice is helpful. I'm new to the dog thing so lay it on.

Thanks,

Bryan

·
Registered
1,260 Posts
Ok, I'll probably have a bunch of these little questions. I'll be getting my puppy next week. I'll have the whole week off to focus on him and crate and house training but after that he will probably be in the crate in the mornings and afternoons while I am in class (i'll be home for lunch).
Well that is a reasonable plan but it depends on the age of your puppy. Generally speaking, the number of hours your pup can stay in his crate is his age in months plus one.

I don't think i'll want to crate him more than he'll need to be when i'm not there. Is it a good idea to let him sleep with me at night, or will he need to be crated then too? Is just seems like a long time to have him crated if he doesn't need to be. Any advice is helpful. I'm new to the dog thing so lay it on.
You will have to take your puppy outside at least once during the night for quite a while. Many people simply move the crate next to their bed during the night so they can be sure to hear when he needs to go out. You can also do a close tether next to the bed. Either way is a much better idea than having your pup in the bed or wandering around free.