Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
751 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I hate to see any animal killed :( ... But I heard of an 82 lb coyote killed on the radio this morning and well had to check out the images myself.

Mods, if this is not aloud to be here, I totally understand (id just like some input) so please, feel free to take this down :)

Coyotes are only suppose to weigh 20-50 lbs whiles grey wolves start at 80lbs
Sure he could be a large coyote, but just take a look at him

Here in Newfoundland, we no longer have wolves as the newfoundland wolf is extinct. But this guy has raised some questions and has a DNA sample sent to the lab.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
554 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I always thought coyotes, compared to wolves, had slightly larger/more prominent ears, and were smaller and "thinner". So it's kind of hard to tell from that picture...its head and coloring looks like a classic Hollywood wolf, that's for sure. And it seems a lot larger than the average coyote. Would like to hear how the DNA test goes!

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
IMHO it looks awfully large for a coyote. The ears have me stumped too.

·
Registered
4,849 Posts
Definitely wolf.

·
Registered
751 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Thanks everyone!
Still awaiting on the news on the DNA from vocm. If it is a wolf, i'd asume he came over the same way the coyotes came over ( on the ice ).
Because wolves are pack animals, what are the chances of more? or could it be a solitary animal.

It took several years before the Newfoundland government admitted there were coyotes on the island, so im curious as to what they'll say this guy is.

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
Thanks everyone!
Still awaiting on the news on the DNA from vocm. If it is a wolf, i'd asume he came over the same way the coyotes came over ( on the ice ).
Because wolves are pack animals, what are the chances of more? or could it be a solitary animal.