Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am hoping someone can help me out with an issue I've been facing for several months. We have a 2 1/2 year old Japanese Chin that I think may be having depression issues. She had never been without canine companionship until about 6 months ago. When we brought her home, we had another dog who is sadly no longer with us. After he was gone, I noticed a decreased appetite, but attributed it to just the initial stress of being alone. But now, 6 months have passed and I'm still noticing a frequent refusal to eat, slight weight loss, general change in demeanor (no longer that happy-go-lucky pup - more like the "I'm just going to lay around and sulk" attitude), and a significant loss of coat (I am a groomer and I know the difference between a normal season shed and what this dog has!). She has been checked by the vet and there are no diseases or health issues. I am wondering if it truly could be that this dog is depressed because she's just so used to being with other dogs and misses the canine companionship. Any suggestions would be truly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
12 Posts
My wife had an analogous situation with her cat. My wife had to temporarily leave her cat to live with her mom when she moved to Texas from S. Carolina. The cat started displaying a lot of the same symptoms you have described. They took him to the vet and the vet put him on Paxil (an anti-depressant). It apparently worked well for the couple of years he was on it. When my wife and her cat were reunited we discontinued giving him the Paxil and all of the symptoms disappeared and have never resurfaced.

·
Registered
5,615 Posts