Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there have been other threads on this, but mine is a little bit different I think. And I find direct advice easier to process than bits and pieces picked out of other threads. So, here's my situation:

I am currently in college pursuing a BA in history. I had originally been pursuing a BS in zoology because animals are a big passion of mine, but I couldn't handle the math and chemistry. History is working for me because I am a good writer and love learning about history. BUT...I have no idea what I would do with this degree. Not many of the career options sound very appealing. However, I am also currently working part time at a facility that does boarding, daycare, and grooming. I work as a kennel tech, but I also assist with bathing most grooming days. I both bathe and dry dogs pretty regularly, like at least once a week sometimes more, and according to the unofficial head bather (she's been working there for like 12 years so she's basically second in command under the owner, though I don't think she has any actual title), I do a good job at this. I also really enjoy working there. So I was thinking about maybe becoming a groomer, and possibly even opening my own facility or something. Only thing is I really don't have any actual grooming experience except for trimming my own dog, Legend, and he is a papillon so the extent of actually cutting the hair is trimming the hair on his feet and the hair on his belly to avoid pee and the hair bum so it doesn't trail on the ground when he poos. Very little actual grooming. I know of one grooming school in NC that isn't too far from me, and it's Nanhall in Greensboro. It says their tuition for one year is $5800 and $2000 for supplies. That's not terrible I suppose but it's a lot to pay only to find out it's not going to work out for me. Also, does anyone know if it's a good school? Any suggestions as to how I might