Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, we're considering a Labrador puppy currently and we have found a breeder who we are willing to buy from, they're friendly and helpful etc, but I've had a look at the breeding register that shows all previous relatives from four generations back of the puppies in the litter and there's one thing that worries me, I've studied genetics at GCSE and I'm currently studying at A-level and as most of you probably know, inbreeding is bad, it reduces genetic diversity and increases the likely hood of defects. This is the register:

If you look at the grand parents, both Daleabbey's got the giggles at Damolyn and Daleabbey's get out and about are siblings as they share the same parents - Bradstone's my way at Miramonte and Daleabbey's out on the town, which would make the parents (Damolyn's twist and shout, and Sunshine deep rose) of the puppies half cousins if I am right in thinking, and two half cousins have had puppies, I know the risk of any genetic defect due to inbreeding is very low due to the dilution of genetics and fresh genes, but it's still a possibility, am I correct?

Thanks and sorry for the long winded first post!

·
Registered
529 Posts
I am sure your breeder is well aware of the inbreeding. It very well may have been intentional. Inbreeding in dogs isn't quite the same as it is in humans. There are benefits and consequences to inbreeding. Honestly I don't think you have anything to worry about in this situation.

·
Registered
3,109 Posts