Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few weeks ago I made a puppy deposit for a Tamaskan to one of the two registered breeders in America. I am not a first time dog owner and this would be my fourth time owning a dog BUT it IS my first time ever getting a dog from a breeder as all my dogs have all been from shelters.

Is it common for breeders to not answer e-mails? I talked to this particular person's father (who is part of the breeding process) on phone prior to my deposit twice and then sent an e-mail with questions that went unanswered. Talked on the phoned again this time with the daughter and main breeder who curtly told me she'd answer my e-mails but still no luck. Talked on the phone a fourth time with the father and he told me they got like 50 e-mails a day and he'd make sure his daughter would get to mine on that specific day and even sent met three test e-mails to make sure he had my address right. Still nothing.

Is this normal with breeders? I am honestly completely new to the world of breeders so I am very much clueless to it all. Should I let this slide or do something about this? I feel like I'd be pestering them a LOT by calling them again for the fifth or so time but it is a new family member that is supposed to arrive in about three months from what they've told me so constant communication is key, right? Or am I going about this the wrong way?

·
Registered
278 Posts
I don't have a lot of breeder experience.

However, you actually paid a deposit to the breeder. You are not someone who just wants to ask a million questions & waste their time. I think anyone who has a deposit on a puppy (or has a puppy) should be a higher priority response.

If the puppy is not expected home for 3 months, then it does not sound like it is due to a recent birth.