Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
468 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So the past few months or so I have been thinking of getting a puppy. I had a bunch of breeds in mind but after the holidays things settled down enough to actually focus on what I wanted. I narrowed it down to the Shih Tzu and the Maltese. I have researched some breeders and looked at what to look for in a breeder, and I found some that I think are ok. I am NOT experienced in puppy choosing so feel free to tell me whatever is wrong with the breeders. Also, if anyone has recommendations for a small breed that would be wonderful! I am located in Austin, Texas and am pretty much willing to drive anywhere within a day or two (I don't want to ship the puppy). I also have a 3.5 lbs female spayed Yorkie and two fixed ten lbs cats.

Anyways, here are the Shih Tzu Breeders:
1- http://www.karyonshihtzu.com/
2- http://altaspalmasranch.webs.com/
3- http://www.josakennel.com/
4- http://mistydajavueshihtzu.net/

Maltese:
1- http://www.vallettamaltese.net/index.html
2- http://www.kryzmamaltese.com/

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
I opened one page and it made my eyes hurt so I stopped looking. I"ll admit, I don't know much about these breeds anyways. A good, reputable breeder will health tests all the dogs that they're breeding and will do something with their dogs (be it showing in confirmation, obedience, agility, etc). They'll breed with a goal in mind instead of just sticking two dogs together, and are working to improve the breed as a whole. Also, a good breeder will generally pick out a puppy for you instead of having you choose. They know the puppies and their personalities better than you ever could and if they know exactly what you want in your dog they'll be able to match you with the perfect pup.

·
Registered
7,429 Posts