Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an aggressive chewer on my hands. Ever since she was little she has loved to chew, chew, chew. I was giving her bully sticks but even the larger ones she would chew through very fast. I was told at the local dog store to give her beef marrow bones as they are cheaper and last just as long. They carried the Primal brand so I've been buying those. I've been giving her 1 every other day for the last 6 months. Lots of bones! Being a newbie I just now heard that marrow bones can crack teeth very easily especially in an aggressive chewer. She normally licks out all the marrow and then chews the bone. I do hear lots of crunching and cracking. Now I'm concerned about her teeth. Would I know if she had a cracked tooth? Should I stop giving her the bones? What's a good alternative? I've been staying away from rawhide since the beginning but would compressed rawhide be an option? Back to expensive bully sticks? I feel like anything that a dog enjoys chewing that actually lasts has the chance of causing harm. Any opinions?

·
Registered
19,018 Posts
Try an antler. They're expensive but they last longer for mine. Of course one of mine won't eat them but the other likes the split antlers a lot.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Try an antler. They're expensive but they last longer for mine. Of course one of mine won't eat them but the other likes the split antlers a lot.
I did get her an antler, but it wasn't split. She chewed it for a bit but seems to have no interest in it. When she was chewing it, it also sounded like it could break a tooth. I'll have to try a split one.

I think I'm now just paranoid about her teeth and having a whole new set of expensive problems.

·
Registered
482 Posts
My young BC mix is very big on chewing.