Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've started working with my 9 week old lab (Charlie). He isn't the first puppy I've trained, he's my second (LOL) so I am not too experienced at all. I didn't clicker train the first puppy because I was working through a seeing eye dog group and had to follow their training, which was mostly luring behavior with treats then fading treats.

I really want to use capturing his behavior as much as possible with Charlie and have been charging the clicker the past 2 days. Short sessions with him. But I don't know if he really gets it. He looks at the clicker hand when I click then looks at the treat hand and I give him a treat. Does it sound like he's got it?

On the other hand, he is doing amazing with Zen. I'm kind of in shock that he gets it already. :clap2:

Thanks so much in advance for any advice :)

Lisa

·
Registered
4,350 Posts
It sounds like he's getting a connection right now: first comes the click, then the treat. That's a good start! The thing Harper has been doing lately, is focusing more on the sound, and looking at me. He doesn't look to the other hand to get the treat. The treat doesn't necessarily have to follow immediately, because he's confident he'll get it in a second. So, it's kind of like the click is really what he's after, because he knows what will eventually come. It doesn't have to be immediate with him looking at both hands! Does that make sense? Probably not, lol!

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I've been making sure he's already focused (more or less) on me when I'm doing this so I will try it next time when he's not looking at me and see what happens. I'll also try giving it a second before giving him the treat and see if he looks at my face. Pretty much I've been following the advice from Pat Miller's The Power of Positive Dog Training: "Click! the clicker and pop a treat into your dog's mouth."