Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My dog, Lucy is a little over two years old, she is a 35 pound lab/pom mix. I "rescued" her from my former employers. I have known her since she was 8 weeks old but she didn't officially become mine until she was 14 months old. When I got her I was living in Tennessee, she wasn't potty trained, chewed on everything, wasn't obedience trained, not socialized with other animals or people and was very hyper. I moved to New York with her and her behavior changed for the better, she wasn't as hyper, I started training her myself, socializing her with other dogs, cats and she even had a little bunny friend, taking her to the dog park, she had issues with new people coming into her life at first but then she slowly got more used to it and she didn't bark as much... except for at one man who lived near us, she couldn't seem to get used to him which I still don't know why. We were in New York for almost a year.

In December I had to move back to Tennessee for college and her behavior is going back to the way it used to be. She will still walk nicely on a leash as long as there is no distractions but as soon as there is another animal (dog, cat, bird, squirrel) or a person she completely freaks out, starts pulling on the leash so hard that she almost knocks me over and she barks so much that when I try to get her attention on me she doesn't even notice me. It's like she gets tunnel vision.