Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 86 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I always thought his philosophies were supposed to be amazing, but it seems like there's a large handful of experienced dog people on this forum who disagree.

I'm new to dog ownership myself, so I'm just curious. And looking to gain as much knowledge as I can.

Why is he so bad?

And also, why is he so good?

·
Registered
20,765 Posts
One thing that would help is defining his philosophies. I've heard some things attributed to him that he never said/did. And he seems to have changed his philosophies from his earlier episodes, he seems to be a bit more mindful and less aggressive now. But he's a TV personality. . .the disclaimer at the beginning of the show says not to try anything you see without consulting a professional. People should follow that.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I guess I'm looking for a debate about his theories on dominance, corrections, and pack mentality.

From what I gather, he preaches calm assertive energy. Always praise calm submissive energy. Assert yourself as the pack leader, and reinforce (gently but firmly) that you are in charge. Exercise, discipline, and then affection are the dogs basic needs.

He believes corrections are sometimes needed in order to communicate to a dog what kind of behaviours you don't agree with. Then to redirect and show them what to do instead. The intensity of the correction should match the intensity of the infraction.

And then on the other end of the fence, there seems to be alot of people who think the whole pack leader thing, and being the alpha is garbage old school thinking. Dogs respond to positive reinforcement only and corrections should rarely be used if at all. Dogs need love and affection, exercise, and then discipline in gentle ways if at all. We should not try to act like dogs, because we're people and we're not good at it. Dogs know this.