Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
*Hi all.
I'm new to dogs, I've never even lived with one till my friend gifted me a Springer Spaniel pup last X-mas. The pup is 6 months old now and he's doing fairly well with training, however, he's terrible by roads.

*I live in the country, and I have no car during daylight on weekdays,
so the public road is the only place I can give him a decent walk. Recently he has developed this problem where he wants to chase cars that drive by. When on the leash, he lunges at cars or even tries to pull to the middle of the road when he hears one coming. These cars are going around 50mph on hilly roads so I have to yank him off the road pretty fast. I never want to see him by a road off leash.

No treats have worked with getting his attention away, nor does my voice (he comes when called normally), I've even tried a whistle. It's like
when he hears a car, nothing exists but that car. I could be calling him, and waving a whole cooked chicken at him; he couldn't care less. Food has never actually been something he values highly.
My friends/family say I should get a shock collar for him, but I wanted to see what others say before I do something that drastic. Any advice?

·
Registered
543 Posts
When I first got Lucas he wanted to chase cars, and skateboards, and bikes, and joggers, and roller skaters, and cats and rabbits and EVERYTHING. I stinks and scary I know!

If you can't find a reward better to the dog than the fun of chasing the cars you'll have to set up controlled training scenarios to work below the dog's threshold for over excitement. When the lunging starts, the dog is too aroused to listen or learn, training has to be done before he gets that worked up.