Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm new to this forum and registered here for the purpose of making this thread.

Dog lover here, of course.

Anyways, I'm moving to my own apartment (no more roommates!) late this fall and would like to get a dog. However, I am a Paramedic and my work schedule keeps me out of the house 24 hours at a time 2 days of each week. Other days I'm home with good consistency.

The idea is to get a cat and small dog as babes and raise them together. A lot of people in my field own cats because they can do a 24 stint with no problem, then again, cats use litter boxes. Now I have been researching this quite a bit. I think if I buy a sociable, friendly breed of cat the dog won't be starved for company. Sure he will need additional human contact but my 5 days a week at home should be good, yes? I've also found that I can buy reliable automated feeder/waterers so I don't see any real problem there.

Here is where I snag, urinating/defecating needs and the fact that I cannot have him barking and making a ruckus all day long bothering the other tenants.

I could buy a quiet breed or train my pup to be quiet but can dogs be trained use a litter box like a cat? Or are there other solutions that don't require someone stopping in 2-3 times throughout the day to let them outside?

Either way I don't want my pet to be home alone all day so if you guys just tell me I'm crazy I'll settle for getting 2 cats. But any help here would really be appreciated! :D

Btw, there is a yard, though it is shared and I can't have my pup outside all day/night. The apartment is 1200 sq*ft 2 bedrooms. I'm buying the building and will be the landlord so there's not restrictions on animals (for me anyways) and what sorts of enclosures I can use within reason. However, I do have to keep my tenants happy which involves quiet, well-behaved, non-yard ripper-uppering!

Thank you for all your help,
Nick