Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
6,211 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I'm a newbie here (although I have been reading these threads for a while now).

I'm looking for some feedback on what breed you folks think would suit my family, so hopefully someone can help.

Here is some background on us! My boyfriend and I live together currently in an apartment, and are interested in getting a dog in a few years once we are able to own our own home. We currently have 2 cats, and will be intending on starting a family in the future (4-5 years or so).

I had a family dog when I lived at home who passed away 2 and a half years ago now. He was a great dog, lassapoo, but my mom was the primary caretaker for him (other than occasional feedings that I did or letting him out to pee when I got home from school). I was young when we got him as a puppy, so I didn't really participate in training him.

My boyfriend has never owned a dog before. He was bitten by a GSD when he was about 8, so he is very wary around that breed, and of dogs who look 'shepherd-ish', if that makes sense. He does not hate these types of dogs, or think that they are all bad and aggressive, he just isn't able to feel comfortable around them.

Currently I volunteer at our local SPCA looking after the dogs, so I've gotten to interact with all shapes and sizes!

We've talked about it, and these are the traits we're looking for in a dog;
-Medium sized (40-50 lbs)
-Medium energy (my boyfriend is okay with high energy and although he is an outdoorsey person, having never owned a dog I'm not sure that he is fully aware of what 'high energy dog' means)
-Good with cats and children (I do have young reletives that would be interacting with the dog occasionally, as well as our own children in the future)
-Low maintenance in terms of grooming
-Easily trainable (The dog doesn't have to be a genius, but picking up on things quickly is preferred)