Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all

I just adopted a blue heeler/border collie mix about three days ago from a spca shelter. He is 6 years old a bit overweight at 59 pounds and he passed all of his behavior tests. He seemed like a perfect dog besides his weight issues. His owners wanted him euthanized when brought into the shelter but with no reason apparently? This is my first time owning this breed but not my first time with dogs. It's clear the the previous owner did at least train him because he is house broken, knows to stay, sit, roll over, drop toys, fetch, he pulls the leash but just a little and is very excited when seeing squirrels and such.

He is in his adjustment period now and I'm just trying to learn how to read him and his wants and needs and it's proving to be a challenge.
So to start he is panting alot, this may be because of his weight? But I am not sure my house is at a cool 69 or 72. I'm learning towards anxiety and nervousness. So with this how do I deal with this?
He sneezes a lot when we go outside and then needs to clear his throat like he choked himself out by pulling to hard on the leash but didn't.
Is exhibiting a lot of lip licking with glances at me. Very unable to determine the meaning of these glances if there were nervous or agressive? This almost crazy lip licking started after he was up on my bed for an extended period of time(extended being 20 minutes he would not want to stay up any longer than 3 before this, I'm assuming his previous owners didn't want him. On. Furniture.)

It's very clear that he is still adjusting but I need reassurance here because I have never rescued an older dog before. My adoption counseler didn't touch on these behaviors he might be exhibiting while adjusting and I didnt think to ask.