Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im not really a newbie dog owner but the question is very basic.How do I get my 12 week old pup to stop biting/nipping?.Im stumped.But my 8yo son and his friends are getting sick of being bitten up every day.The pup is so excited she has to mouth everything, my hand , my arm our faces whatever...How do make it clear its okay to lick but not bite?
We've only had her for almost 3 weeks but have taught her to sit and Ive taught her to look at me.But thats about it other then potty training.Thanks so much for any help.

·
Registered
4,423 Posts
Every time the teeth touch skin or even your clothes you YELP! or OUCH! and immediately stop all play. Don't even look at her. That clearly tells her/shows her that biting stops all play/attention. The problem will be the kids. They must do the same thing....everytime or the training is almost useless.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks we will try this.How long will it take? She mouths everything, Im afraid I may have encouraged her behaviour because that first week she seemed to calm down when I let her chew on my fingers(She still does this but gently).

·
Registered
4,423 Posts
Pups learn very quickly and some will stop after just a few lessons if everyone is consistent. It helps to redirect/give things the pup CAN chew on...Kongs, bones, etc.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
She has a ton of toys, I will say though she has ruined 3 in just the last week..She is a big chewer..She is 3/4 rottie and 1/4 heeler so she has pretty much torn up the toys that have lasted the iggies months.I did buy her a kong and put pbutter in it but our rather bossy boston terrier keeps taking it away.

·
Registered
101 Posts