Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello i have been trying to find out what kind of puppy food would be best for my 4 month old pitbull mix i had rescued and i am new to having a dog. i have done endless googleing and havent found a straight forward answer. right now she is on iams smart puppy which i am fully against because of the horrible things they do for their research and it is not a great food to begin with. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, also anything wallet saving is a plus but obviously not a necessity

·
Banned
9 Posts
hello i have been trying to find out what kind of puppy food would be best for my 4 month old pitbull mix i had rescued and i am new to having a dog. i have done endless googleing and havent found a straight forward answer. right now she is on iams smart puppy which i am fully against because of the horrible things they do for their research and it is not a great food to begin with. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, also anything wallet saving is a plus but obviously not a necessity
You don't need to use puppy food. Puppy food is a gimmick. Look for a food with 25 - 30% protein and 15% -20% fat that is rated "All Life Stages". Ones that come to mind that are easy to find but good would be Precise, Canidae Chicken & Rice, Fromm Gold Adult (it is rated ALS). Pro Plan ALS Chicken & Rice is also a very dependable diet, despite what the Dog Food Police will tell you. Trainers, handlers and breeders all over the world use it.

Ones not so easy to find are Annamaet (all are rated All Life Stages except Option the allergy formula), Dr. Tim's Kinesis or Pursuit, Red Paw 26 and Best Breed.

·
Registered
4,849 Posts
I find this site very helpful.
http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-reviews/dry/5-star/