Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I recently got a German Shepherd puppy and plan to do a lot of training with him, so i have a lot of questions. In the end i want a dog that is obedient but fun, protective but not aggressive, and it would be fun to do some akc obedience trials with him. To make this extra interesting i am new to training a dog. So.... On with the questions:

1. The AKC STAR puppy program, has anyone been through this? What skills are learned? Does anyone have any complaints or praises about it? Would this be a good starting point or would my money and our time be better spent in a beginners puppy class?

2. The AKC Canine Good Citizen program, basically I have the same questions about it that I do about STAR. Is it worth it? Any cheers or jeers?

3. Can anyone give me an idiot's explanation of exactly how the obedience trials work? I have read over what is on the AKC site and it just makes things seem so.... Simple... I must be missing something.

4. Like i said, i want a protective dog, but not an aggressive one. I have read some about schutzhunde training but it seems a bit.... Extreme... Or am i wrong? I don't want my dog to be a mean junkyard dog or anything like that, but at the same time I don't want him to want to play fetch with the guy trying to steal my tv. Any advice there?

5. A potty training question, Jake is getting potty trained... Slowly. He PREFERS to go outside but still pees inside often. He gives no warning that he needs to pee, he just does it, sometimes while walking, leaving a trail across the house. Does anyone know how I can get him to whine, scratch at the door, do the pee pee dance, blow an air horn, anything that would let me know he needs to go out rather than having me guess?

Anyway, thats all I have for now. I thank everyone in advance for any help they can provide!

·
Registered
5,615 Posts