Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone!

I was wondering, of all the people who post on dog training forum, who is a trainer? I am looking into becoming a trainer and would love some feedback on becoming one or even things I should or should not do from the owners perspective.

Thanks!
~John

PS Im trying to find the right breed for myself so any thoughts are great!

·
Registered
5,406 Posts
I've been training dogs for 30+ years. Have been training professionally (not volunteer) for about 10. The first thing you need is experience with a wide variety of dogs. If you haven't experienced it, you can't give advice, you can't answer owners questions thoroughly, and you can't help the dog. Find seminars in your area. Attend them. Apprentace under an experienced trainer, volunteer at your local shelter, and get that dog and start training it to do things. Pet manners are great, and that's probably what most of your clients are going to want. BUT your level of skill needs to be deeper if you are going to train. Pick a challenging sport and train for it. Training difficult behaviors in difficult situations gives you a reality check on how you're really doing. Oh - and from your other thread? You cannot be the dominant dog. You are the wrong species, and dogs know it. Generally people who concentrate on being dominant over dogs just end up looking silly or like bullies. There are much better ways to communicate what you want to a dog (and make it worth their effort to comply

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
WOW!
Now thats what I call advice. Thanks Pawsk9! So long story story short; practice, read and learn as much as possible? An if reading is one of them, any suggested reads or videos to watch?

Thanks!
~John

·
Registered
5,406 Posts
WOW!