Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How often should a pup be bathed? I just got a small breed puppy and she tends to calm down and sleep better at night when we give her a bath! I don't want to dry her skin or hair tho. Thoughts?

·
Registered
320 Posts
It definitely depends on the individual dog's coat; I've researched info for my breed (Dalmatian), and bathing more than once every three months strips the beneficial oils from the coat. I don't think this is common advice across other breeds, though.

I'm no expert, but it may help the more knowledgeable members if you can describe your girl's coat length and texture? (I found in one of your previous posts that your pup is "teddy bear/Shichon," but I'm not familiar with either of those...I did find a Zuchon though and I think that's the same as Shichon which looks like a cross between Bichon Frisé and Shih Tzu? And I think "teddy bear" is usually the same cross? So I'm guessing your girl has a longer coat, and I'm seeing once every 3-4 weeks recommended for Bichon Frisé and Shih Tzu, with more frequent baths being needed by young puppies, although how much more frequent is the question.)

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
Many poodle owners will bathe weekly, but you need a good-quality shampoo and conditioner made for dogs - the latter is absolutely not optional if you're bathing that frequently. Otherwise you'll really dry the coat out.

How does she act in the bath? I'm just concerned that she sleeps better because baths are stressful or scary for her and it wears her out - our boy is like that. We've worked on desensitizing him to it, but we avoid full-on bathing as much as possible so as to not put him through that any more than we have to.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I'm not sure how often we are suppose to bath our dogs but I have a havanese puppy and he gets a bath weekly he starts to smell 6-7 days