Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any advice? Long post, but pretty descriptive issues, hopefully to rule out some questions needed prior to answering.
I'm a new member and I've looked through 100's of threads on here already, although I've read some excellent advice, I haven't found answers to all my questions, so I'm hoping to consolidate them in one place. 馃槉 I also hope I'm posting in the right place.

Anyways... a little background 1st:
I previously had 2 other Aussies, so I have some experience with them/know what to expect, but I'm not an expert with the breed. They were both males though. Currently, I have an 11 month old female Aussie named Lily. At 6 months old, I adopted her from a family during the height of Covid, who were over whelmed by her & didn't know what to do. They (mom/dad) had 2 children & I believe 2 other dogs. Right away I noticed some issues with her, & it was clear they barely worked with her. When I got her she was very anxious (to be expected from re-homing) but overly anxious, overly alert (still is, but has calmed down a lot), had horrible manners, & HATES to be left alone to this day. I can not even leave her in the fenced in part of my yard, or she looses her mind, & tries to escape. I have worked with her a lot & broke a lot of bad behavior, but she still has much more work to do...