Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
..... and keeping Eddee tied to me 24/7... I have been working on his potty issues for 4 months now. I am treating him as a new pup. I crate him when I cannot have my eye on him. We go outside numerous times a day ....way numerous!

I have the actual marking fixed. I almost have the peeing in the house fixed. I even take the poop outside and show him. A few times that I got him to go outside I made a huge party of it ... and he got scared and squatted like he was going to pee himself?

I noticed he likes to do it when no one is looking and in the dark .... but I cannot make it dark all day long. AND he hates his feet getting wet. I literally have to carry him out and place him in the yard away from anything he can climb on. He will even walk the boat trailer to keep off the ground.

I just cannot get him to realize he has to poop outside. It started out that he would sneak off and poop and THEN come and paw at me as if to tell me he did it? He has it backwards.

Any suggestions ... it seems as if he is poop shy. Someone must have scolded him for pooping. I have had some tough ones ... but he is the toughest yet.

Maybe there is something I have not tried?

·
Registered
9,307 Posts
Can you stake him outside in an area where you can watch him from home. If so stake him out go in home and watch. This would eliminate possible poop shying program. Some times I have started young pups attached to fence because when walking them they were more interested in me rather than getting the job done. Will it work for you, don't have a clue, just something to confuse the issue:)

·
Registered
13,075 Posts
Discussion Starter #3