Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I have a 3yr. old Cocker Spaniel. Actually she was my wife's dog before we were married. I would like to train her basic commands first, such as "sit," "come," stay" and "whoa". I would also like to eventually train her to retrieve. I had a Chessie that I trained myself. She turned out to be a pretty good bird dog, so I am not a total greenie. However, I started training my Chessie at 10-12 weeks old. Sophie is 3 years old. I never bothered training her before, because my wife had not trained her before we were married. She will not come when called unless she wants to. I am pretty certain that she understands this command. I think she is just being stubborn. Any ideas? Is it true that you can't teach an old dog new tricks?

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
You teach them the same way that you would a puppy.

Training has changed over the years though. Now most people use positive reinforcement. There's some stickies at the top of the training forum you might read. I've taught dogs as old as 12 to do basic obedience, plus some tricks.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I always used positive reinforcement on my Chessie. I definitely do not believe in the old school BB-gun method. I never even used an e-collar. The harshest thing I did to Sage was force-fetching. I quit doing that after a while. I figured, this is kind of cruel, and I am not doing it anymore. I will check out the stickies. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,966 Posts
Old dog?

Last week I taught my Beagle -- roughly the same lifespan as a Cocker -- to spin in two directions. She'll be 11 in July.

Many of our members have taken in rescues at 3 or older with minimal training and turned them into very well-behaved dogs.

In other words, don't worry about it.

Recall can be tricky. I'm in a bit of a rush, so I'm going to just post a few basic tips:

1. Never let a command go unenforced.