Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
About Me:

I'm currently a student and also work part time. I live with my parents and two brothers, an 8 year old and a high schooler. However, I don't know how much I trust them to care for a puppy in my absence. Even if I do my best to educate them, I'd imagine them not having the patience or understanding to do things "the right way." Despite this, I'm sure potty breaks and maybe some play sessions shouldn't be too much to ask if need be. I live in an apartment and this would be my first dog that is 100% my responsibility.

What I'm looking for:
  • Small to medium sized (as it would spend most of it's time living with me in my bedroom.)
  • Minimal grooming. I don't mind a daily brush, but I'd rather not have a coat that needs constant groomer attention. (e.g Poodle) I don't mind shedding.
  • Content with an hour of exercise a day. Two half hour walks and a training session? On my days off I can go all day. Of course I can always work with less. I would really like at least a morning walk though, gotta stay active!
  • Weather tolerant. I live in Canada, so cold winters and hot summers. I don't mind investing in snow gear if need be, but I don't want the poor guy to ever feel uncomfortable.
  • Trainable/Biddable. If for nothing else than to show off, I'd love to teach fun tricks.
  • Healthy. I know this one is hard to determine, but some breeds are notorious for having a myriad of heath issues (e.g CKCS) and while I do plan to set aside money for emergencies, Pet Insurance in Canada doesn't seem as good as in the US.