Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all! : )
Im new to the forums and this is my first post.
My question is ...
During the process of crate / house-training a pup, after the pup relieves himself / herself outside, how much freedom / playtime should i give him before bringing him back into the crate?
Thanks all!
P.S.
heres a little vid of the extreme aggression and violence that he his displaying!
:) LOL!

·
Registered
948 Posts
The lesser of 1> however much time he wants, and 2> however much time you have.

A lot of people recommend a set schedule and I'll never advise against success, but I've always just played with 'em while I had the time, whether inside or outside, carrying them out when it looked like they needed it, or whenever it occured to me that it's been awhile since they been out. More of a laid back informal approach.

That's just my philosophy and I'm no professional although where housebreaking is concerned, I think I qualify as an accomplished amateur.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
awesome!
what you said makes perfect sense to me. i actually like that point of view / approach.
Thanks for chiming in!

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for chiming in Abbylynn,
thats two senior members so far that agree that that approach is fine.
cant tell you guys how much i appreciate the reassurance.

uhh - is there a way to mark these threads as solved / closed?

P.S.
check out my avatar : )
thats my little guy right there : ))
been home two weeks with us so far. love'm to bits already ...
long haired jack russell terrier

·
Registered
13,074 Posts
Awwwe ..... Absolutely adorable little guy! :)
Not sure about closing threads? :) That would be up to the Moderators I imagine ...

Probably mostly kept for all to read and learn? :)

·
Registered
3,946 Posts
So I agree with the others regarding playing when you have time. But just wanted to add this: