Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've wanted to try agility with Corona since I got her (4yrs ago!), and finally, I've switched some shifts at work, and signed us up for an 'Agility Foundations' course that will give us the basics on the various pieces of equipment. I've never done any agility before, and Corona has never done classes of any kind. We start on November 3rd.

I'm nervous, but also really excited!

·
Registered
3,153 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
We've had a couple of classes now and last Thursday was lots of fun!

The first week we learned the tunnel, pole jumps, table, tire jump and weave poles. Thursday we added in the chute and the A-frame and did a tunnel-->table sequence and a tunnel-->tire sequence.

The first week she spent about half the class nervous and distracted before she came around and started to focus, but she came around MUCH more quickly at the second class and I was happy to see her tail up within about 15 minutes.

The A-frame was hard for Corona.. it was only at about 3'6" high but there are no "cleats" until 3/4 of the way up so there's not much for her to grip and it's already quite steep at that height. She was really hesitant about crossing the gap at the top the first time too, but she did it with some coaxing and it was never an issue again.

She was great with the tunnel->tire sequence, didn't try to duck around the tire at all.

I definitely wouldn't say she's enthusiastic yet, but I'm hoping that will come as her confidence grows.

·
Registered
2,000 Posts