Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, new around here. This seems like a good place to get the info I am looking for. Sorry in advance for the extremely long post....

Quick summary of our issues:
Me and my fiance adopted a dog who is aggressive about 1 1/2 moths ago. He showed no signs of aggression at the animal control and when they do their "behavioral eval." if he did they would have put him down. That's their policy (real nice, huh?). He is very happy, and playful around us and most others, but he has bit and caused bruising around what looks similar to a blood blister, but no punctures. I believe it was meant more as a warning than to cause serious harm. I could be wrong though, I'm not an expert haha. It has only happened when he has been on a leash.

We signed up with a dog trainer/ behaviorist to work on this, who advertises as a positive reinforcement trainer. An hour into the first class I find out he uses pinch collars (that doesn't seem like positive reinforcement to me), which he recommended we use. I don't believe in this, but since it was his class I went along with it. I have felt bad every time I have had to make a correction, and now almost a month after starting the training I still haven't seen the slightest improvement.

Here's my serious issue.