Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to adopt a dog and wanted to get advice on how long an adult dog could go without me being home. A little about me:
[*]gone for 8-9 hours including commute for work. I'm a teacher so I have some flexibility about when I get to school and where I do prep. I also have lots of random time off including summers and multiple weeks during the school year.
[*]I live in an apartment with a roommate who loves dogs but has none and supports me getting one
[*]my room has a private shaded patio which any dog I adopted would have unrestricted access to all day.
[*]the living room area + my bedroom + the patio + the kitchen is actually a lot of space for a small dog by apartment standards
[*]I would get a small low to medium energy adult dog (no puppy) and invest in training her

·
Registered
17,906 Posts
Almost all adult dogs will be fine with someone who works full-time. You'll be fine.

·
Registered
8,384 Posts
I got into a spot where I had to work 12 hours with limited days off and my adult dogs adjusted just fine... days off I used as fun and training days and the rest of the time was about keeping to a schedule for feeding, and walking before and after I got home from work some sleep time for me and out to walk them then eat before I had to go back to work... it went smoothly until my hours went back to normal...

·
Registered
80 Posts
Yep, 8-9 hours is fine for most adult dogs.