Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3,153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

I'm sure we've all seen dogs put on really impressive displays like this, and I think it's awesome. But it really makes me wonder, what are these dogs like day-to-day? Could you take them for a walk down a city street and have their full attention on you like that? Is that practical?

Can any of those kinds of tricks be used practically, for any breed? Could my 3lb chihuahua do back flips off my leg, and if she could, what would we use that for? lol Ok, poor example, but I think you get what I mean.

And I'm not saying they HAVE to be practical, hey, tricks are fun! I'm just looking to open up a bit of discussion on this.

·
Registered
5,284 Posts
Hm.. gotta be honest, if I was a better trainer and had more patience for trick training Marge could probably pick up alot of those behaviors too. I'm not trying to brag about my dog or anything (she is a fearful mess LOL), my point is that she could still learn these things, yet she is relatively low energy for her young age.

Some dogs are just more driven to do these kinds of things than others. In keeping with this idea, my Marge enjoys Agility training, which is a high-energy sport.. yet she's not bouncing off the walls during day-to-day life. These dogs may having a training session like this and then crash on the couch for the rest of the day. Who knows?

Alot of those things aren't practical per se.. but they do lay a nice groundwork for training. Alot of people teach parlor tricks to work their dog's mind and body, and then go on to things that carry a higher level of "importance" I guess.

That attention CERTAINLY is a benefit.. while you probably wouldn't typically ask your dog to look at you like that during every walk, the fact that you CAN ask is very good in certain situations I'd imagine.

·
Registered
3,946 Posts
Cool video!