Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
With a dog I had 10 years ago I decided to go to classes for the first time. This was after a few dogs, all well trained and really very good dogs.

As part of that I studied the 4 quadrants of training/learning and went back to the Skinner rat box and some other things. In the end, I titled the dog in AKC obedience. I went to various R+ trainers and found out everyone interprets how to effectively use the quadrants to get a dog trained. I tried it all.. and just about ruined the dog in the process (mostly from ignorance on how to effecitvely use R+ and the non P+ quadrants and partly due to a lack of Pack Drive in this particular dog).

Eventually I purchased another dog.. sired by a world class winner in the show ring (conformation) and this was my first IPO dog. Pretty dog, but not really cut out for IPO. Then end result is that I learned from her. Lessons that cannot be replaced.. she was difficult to engage as she was nervy and lacking in drive. She is a dog that worries and stresses over every little thing and a stern look or clearing your throat filled her with apologies. She was a good dog because she never ran out of TRY and I will always appreciate her for giving me all she had. It wasn't enough for an IPO 1, but giving me her best and all she had was simply fine.

In comes dog #3 all working lines and sired by a world team dog and out of a solid and titles female line. I have her now. This dog doesn't much care if I clear my throat.. in fact, her idea of fun is to see how far she can push the boundaries. This is the dog that taught me that yes, indeed, positive punishment has its place and that you need to balance that with perfect timing and the dog's behavior. You also need to balance every correction with a Positive Reinforcement that is is three times greater than the correction. This is the dog that taught me about E-Collars.