Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
422 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have a 6 month old lab/aussie female pup named Nova. This is my first dog and so it is a learning experience for the both of us. I never planned on getting her, she was one of those cases where "dog chooses owner". I am still a student but do all my work at home so I can spend lots of time with her. Anyways I have been having some major trouble with training her in some areas. I am very patient with her, but my family isnt and it is starting to cause problems. Her problem is biting..... She does NOT understand no, I have done tons and tons of research on this and nothing I have tried has worked. I have tried
1) Saying no in a stern voice. She just bites more or back sasses me.
2) Squirting her in the face with water. She likes it and wants more.
3) I have tried lightly smacking her on the mouth or bottom. This gets her more worked up.
4) I exercise her daily for hours at a time to wear her out. She still bites even if shes tired.
5) I have tried putting a slip leash around her head behind her ears, and jerk it when she bites. Still doesnt work.
6) I have put her in time out, but she bites when she gets out.
7) I hold her on the ground until she calms down, but the second she gets up it is immediately back to biting. I have sat like that with her for 6 minutes before.
8) When I ignore her, she just jumps up and bites my butt, hair, clothes, back or grabs old of my arm and wont let go.
9) Held her mouth shut and told her "bad girl" or "no"
10) Getting her a toy in place of my hands. She is still interested in my hands only
11) Given her a treat when she stops, but after she eats it she bites again.