Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone,
I got my baby (2 months old King Charles Cavalier) 4 days ago. This is my first time owning a dog I am anxious about her training. I don't want to mess it all up.
I am reading books, going through internet web sites etc. Here is the situation so far:
1- Potty Training: We started immediately. She cannot go out for a month since her vaccines are not finished. I reorganized the basement bathroom and she is staying there at the moment. Our living room is in the basement as well. I covered the bathroom with pee pads and she does her business at the far corner from her bed so that's good. She understands where she needs to eliminate. Once she pees I take her to the living room and I play with her for half and hour or so. When she shows sings for pee time I take her to the bathroom and have her pee. Then I praise her like crazy. BUT she never goes there herself. I always take her or lead her there. We had 5 or 6 accidents so far and I think that's pretty good right? How can I make her go to the bathroom herself? Also sometimes she refuses to go. I know she needs to, she shows the signs but when we go to the bathroom, she finds a clean spot on pee pads and curl up there. I wait but she is stubborn. We go back to the living room and try again after 15 minutes or so. Am I doing right? Am I forcing her too much?
2- Play: I think she is teething. She bites and wants to chew everything. She has those white artificial bones and she teeths them like crazy sometimes for up to an hour. But sometimes that's not enough and she looks for other sources. When she bites my fingers or toes I tell her "NO!" very sternly. Mostly she stops but sometimes no matter how hard I tell her she insists on biting me. And she makes small "grrr" sounds. How can I stop this? Is this normal if happens not so often?