Puppy Forum and Dog Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been training my one year old cairn terrier for like a few months now on learning the "come" command. Every night after dinner I take him out off leash and let him run around. I have his food, and so I train him like that...

However, when he gets away from me (ex. today I was watering someone else's plants in their backyard, Echo squeezed under a fence and was out the other side. Thank goodness that the other side was pretty much blocked off)...
He doesn't respond to commands when he gets away like that...

My question is: Will this go away in time or should I start training Echo differently? Will he come back if I don't panic?

·
Registered
5,615 Posts
What method of training for recall are you using? Have you worked up to training under heavy distraction and distances? Recall doesn't come with age (though maturity and bonding with the owner helps) it requires gradually building up distance, distractions and generalized as much as possible.
More info would be helpful.

·
Registered
1,351 Posts
My dad Cairn loves to run away, not very far but if there's a way to squeeze out of a fence he will. Paradoxically, he has a great recall when we're walking him in the forest, park and the like.

·
Registered
5,997 Posts
I would not let the dog run around off leash if you know his recall is questionable. It's just irresponsible. Buy a 20 ft training lead. The dog can still run around, but you can still work on training at the same time.

·
Registered
4,966 Posts
I agree. NO off-leash time until you're sure the dog comes back to you 100% of the time in any scenario.

·
Banned
749 Posts